Daily Archives: May 27, 2011

God of the Week: Ninhursag

It’s time for a goddess. I can’t believe that the folks at Gilgamesh Press have just focused on interviewing gods. I mean, they’re gods. They’re men. They’re boring.

I, on the other hand, am much more interesting. It’s hard not to be, when you are one of the seven great deities of Sumer and a fertility goddess. And no matter what anyone says, fertility goddesses know how to have a good time, if you understand my meaning.

Who am I? Name is Ninhursag.

I had a few titles, as well as husbands, but that’s neither here nor there.

What? I have to list them?

Well, I was known as the Great Lady of Heaven, Lady of the Mountain, Great Queen, Lady of Birth and so forth, and I was married to at least EnKi, the misogynistic a***hole, although he claims to love women.

Fashion was different back when I was a leading lady of the heavens. Horned headdresses and tiered skirts were all the rage, as were weapons. I used to have a quiver slung over my shoulder for effect, although I did know how to use it. EnKi can vouch for that. Damn gods and their regenerative abilities. For a while, I even had a little lion cub I walked around, like the Tinkerbell of today.

I had a few children as well, as is required of a fertility goddess. One must prove one is capable, naturally. Ninurta and Ninsar are two of my children who you may have heard of, although there were many more. Ninsar wasn’t always the brightest, and fell for the charms of her own father. I can’t believe I forgave EnKi for that. But divorce is a wonderful thing.

I was also involved in the creation of humankind, although the reality isn’t quite the picture painted by the myths (let’s say I didn’t just watch EnKi uncover the heads of the humans in soil using a hoe, or watch as Nammu made you all from clay).

But that’s a whole different story, and one I can’t be bothered telling right now. It’s time to go out and be fertile and whatnot.

Leave a comment

Filed under God of the Week